European Symposium “Cultural Politics and Right-Wing Populism”
One-day cultural policy conference at the University of Applied Arts Vienna
Europe has been cast under the spell of a conservative revolution. This manifests itself in the growing strength of the right-wing populists that influence the political agenda. Their resolutely antiliberal, anti-democratic and anti-establishment traits call for a "different Europe". Their protagonists jeopardize the achievements of liberal democracy and thus the European notion of unity.

The many ramifications of the latest wave of globalization are generally criticized by representatives of the new right, and they will be used to propagate a counter-agenda: one against “globalists“ in the form of advocates, profiteers, and visionaries of globalization. In the struggle against a culturally, economically and socially borderless world, it is important for these anti-liberal political forces to once again strengthen the sovereign nation-state, which is concerned solely with the welfare of its own citizens. In the search for the reasons for social inequalities, the fight against unjust economic power relations is no longer addressed, but rather the defense against ethnic-cultural differences.

In addition to fundamental socio-political and cultural-scientific considerations on the current political radicalization, the symposium and its guests will egnage with an overview of cultural policy developments in selected European countries, such as Great Britain, France, Hungary and the Netherlands. To this end, artistic strategies will be presented that deal with current political changes in Europe. A final panel will provide information about the consequences these developments have, especially in the field of artistic education and training.

 

Cultural Politics and Right-Wing Populism

Date: March 30th 2017, 9 a.m. - 6.30 p.m.

Location: University of Applied Art Vienna, Heiligenkreuzer Hof, Schönlaterngasse 5, 1010 Vienna

Concept and moderation: Michael Wimmer/ University of Applied Arts, EDUCULT/ Vienna, Austria

The conference will be held in both German and English.

Information and registration: info(a)uni-ak.ac.at

Guests/ speakers: Dimitri Almeida (Georg-August-University Göttingen/ Germany), Gerald Bast (University of Applied Arts/ Vienna), Werner T. Bauer (ÖGPP/ Austria), Thomas Drozda (Federal Minister of Arts and Culture/Austria), Michel Gölz, Sebastian Kraner, Virginia Lui (University of Applied Arts, Social Design/ Austria), Stuart MacDonald (ifa/ Germany), Barbara Neundlinger (Cultural Manager/Austria), Nils Oskamp (Artist/ Germany), Dóra Papp (Krétakör, Eötvös Loránd University/ Ungarn), Heather Painter (Fulbright/ Austria), Marlene Rigler (Arts Theorist and Curator / Germany), Paul Schuberth (Anton Bruckner Private University/ Austria), Aron Weigl (EDUCULT/Austria), Michael Wimmer (University of Applied Arts, EDUCULT/Austria)

Folder "Cultural Politics and Right-Wing Populism"

Program

9:00 – 9:30 Opening

Gerald Bast (Rector University of Applied Arts Vienna)

9:30 – 10:00 Introduction to the Conference

Michael Wimmer (University of Applied Arts Vienna, EDUCULT)

Werner T. Bauer ( ÖGPP/ Vienna, Austria): “Right-wing Extremism and Right-wing Populism in Europe”

10:00 – 11:30 Reports from Selected Countries

Dimitri Almeida (Georg-August-University Göttingen/ Germany)

Stuart MacDonald  (ifa/ Stuttgart, Germany)

Heather Painter (Fulbright/ Vienna, Austria)

Dóra Papp (Krétakör, Eötvös Loránd University/ Budapest, Hungary)

Presenter: Aron Weigl (EDUCULT/ Vienna, Austria)

(11:30 – 12:00 Break)

12:00 – 13:30 Approaches

Kenan Güngör (Think Difference/ Vienna, Austria)

Nils Oskamp  (Artist/Berlin, Germany)

Paul Schuberth (Musician, Anton Bruckner Private University/ Linz, Austria)

Presenter: Michael Wimmer (University of Applied Arts Vienna, EDUCULT/ Vienna, Austria)

(13:30 – 14:30 Lunch Break)

14:30 – 15:00 Artistic Intervention

Michel Gölz, Sebastian Kraner, Virginia Lui (Students of Social Design, University of Applied Arts Vienna/ Austria)

15:00 – 16:30 Artistic Consequences

Marlene Rigler (Arts Theorist and Curator/ Karlsruhe, Germany)

Julian Bruns (Writer/ Vienna, Austria)

Thomas Drozda (Federal Minister for Arts and Culture/ Vienna, Austria)

Gerald Bast (Rector University of Applied Arts Vienna)

Presenter: Barbara Neundlinger (Cultural Manager/ Vienna, Austria)

(16: 30 – 17:00 Break)

17:00 – 18:30 Closing Panel

Julian Bruns (Writer/ Vienna, Austria)

Dóra Papp (Kretakör, Eötvös Loránd University/ Budapest, Hungary)

Michael Wimmer (University of Applied Arts Vienna, EDUCULT/ Vienna, Austria)

Gerald Bast (Rector University of Applied Arts Vienna)

Presenter: Barbara Neundlinger (Cultural Manager/ Vienna, Austria)

Biographies

Dimitri Almeida

Dimitri Almeida studied ethnology and political science at the University of Freiburg and received his PhD from the University of Kassel for research on “The Impact of European Integration on the Structures and Dynamics of Party Competition”. An expert on the development of the Front National in France, he focuses on research and teaching in the field of nationalism and right-wing extremism, religion and laicism, as well as lines of conflict and identity-forming processes in France. Since 2009 he has been a lecturer of French and Portuguese regional studies on the Georg August University of Göttingen.

 

Werner T. Bauer

Werner T. Bauer studied cultural anthropology and oriental studies at the University of Vienna, working thereafter as an independent journalist and researcher, spending time from 1988 to 1994 in Istanbul. From 1998 to 2001 he was an educational consultant for the Afro-Asian Institute (AAI) in Vienna. Since 2003 he has been active as a research associate at the Austrian Association for Political Consulting and Development (ÖGPP). His areas of research focus include international politics, urban development, migration research, and societal and cultural policy. Since 2008 he has worked intensively with the topic of right-wing populist parties in Europe. Along with Lilli Bauer, he has worked as an editor of the internet lexicon dasrotewien.at, and has been a curator of the permanent exhibition ‘’Das Rote Wien im Waschsalon Karl-Marx-Hof.’’

 

Julian Bruns

Author Julian Bruns lives in Vienna and researches in the area of right-wing extremism with a focus on the New Right. He also worked at the ÖH-Office for antiracism work at the University of Vienna. Along with Kathrin Glösel and Natascha Strobl, he wrote the book ‘’The Identitarians. A Handbook on the Youth Movement of the New Right in Europe’’ (2014) as well as ‘’Right Culture Revolution. Who and What is the New Right of Today?’’ (2015).

 

Thomas Drozda

Thomas Drozda studied business and economics at the Johannes Kepler University of Linz. After working as managing director of the Trotzdem-Publisher in Vienna and in the department for economic studies at the Austrian National Bank, he joined the cabinet of Chancellor Vranitzky in 1993, where he adopted the fields of art and culture. From 1998 to 2008, Drozda worked as the commercial director of the Burgtheater, and from 2007 to 2014 he was also a member of the Austrian Broadcasting Corporation, ORF’s Board of Trustees. In 2008 he joined the Vereinigte Bühnen Wien as managing director. Since 2016 Drozda has now become the Federal Minister for Arts and Culture, Constitution, and Media.

 

Michel Gölz

Michel Gölz graduated from a Liberal Arts and Sciences College in Utrecht with the main subjects Anthropology, Urban Studies, and Political Science. He is interested in applying theory to contribute to positive societal transformations. He speaks the languages of different disciplines and works towards a productive relationship of theory and practice, use methods from the arts to include citizens in the urban planning process, and ultimately aim to build fictions of alternative living models to give an idea of where we are and want to go. In 2015 he enrolled at the University of Applied Arts Vienna in the Master programme Social Design.

 

Kenan Güngör

Kenan Güngör is the head of the office for social and organizational development at [think.difference] in Vienna. As an organizational consultant and international expert on integration and diversity issues, he advises and accompanies state and non-governmental organizations at the federal, state, and municipal levels. He has led, among others, numerous integration-related projects at the state and city levels. As a strategic advisor he guided the city of Vienna for several years in integration and diversity-related topics. He is also a member of the independent expert council of the Austrian Federal Government as well as the chairman of the Expert Forum Prevention on Deradikalisierung & Democratic Culture for the city of Vienna. His main areas of focus include: social change, integration, participation, diversity, organizational development, urban sociology, youth, identity, conflict and violence analysis, and radicalization.

 

Sebastian Kraner

Sebastian Kraner lives and works in Vienna. From 2013-2017 he studied TransArts at the University of Applied Arts Vienna. Since 2015 he has been studying social design at the master’s level. He has been recognized within and beyond Austria for his short essay films and has been invited to numerous festivals. Recently he presented his work at the University of Applied Arts in the exhibition ‘’Not Talking with the Right.’’

 

Virginia Lui

Virginia Lui is a Sydney born multidisciplinary designer and artist currently based in Vienna. She studied architecture at the University of Sydney and practiced in some awarding winning architectural firms before studying Social Design at the University of Applied Arts Vienna. She has worked on projects dealing with topics including urban design and rights to public space, affordable housing, cultural exchange, migration and right-wing populism. Her process involves interdisciplinary work and an exploration of a variety of mediums between art and architecture. What concerns her most is the social responsibility of art and design and its potential to impact society and our environments.

 

Stuart MacDonald

Stuart MacDonald is the Founder and Associate Director of the Centre for Cultural Relations (CCR) at the University of Edinburgh. Prior to joining the university he was as a strategist and public policy expert with more than 20 years’ policy experience in international, educational, cultural, social and public sector reform roles. He left the Government service in 2011 to follow his strong interest in cultural relations, initially working in Tunisia after the 2011 revolution, which is where the idea for the CCR originated. Today he is a consultant for ifa (Institute for Foreign Cultural Relations) working on the future of international cultural relations in Europe post-Brexit.

 

Nils Oskamp

Born in 1969 in Bochum, Nils Oskamp studied graphic design with a focus on illustration and has worked as an independent illustrator since 1999. In 2002 he became a co-founder of the German Illustrators’ Organization e.V. (IO), where he was active for several years as an editor and issuer of the organization’s newsletter. In 2012, he was honored with the Red Dot Design Award Honorable Mention and founded the international work community Atelier sans Fontières. In his first graphic novel ‘’Three Stones” he tells the story of his youth in Dortmund-Dorstfeld in the 1980s, where he became a victim of right-wing violence.

 

Heather Painter

Born in Pittsburgh, PA, USA in 1991, Heather Painter studied English, German, and Political Science at Washington & Jefferson College. Afterwards she became a Teach For America corps member, teaching in an underserved elementary school in rural Arkansas. She has worked at the Department of Education Reform at the University of Arkansas, the Center for Applied Policy Research in Munich, and is currently a U.S. Fulbright grantee to Austria, where she engages in projects related to education policy, teaches English as a foreign language, and completes her master’s in political science at the University of Vienna.

 

Dóra Papp

Dóra Papp has been a cultural manager for several years, organizing diverse workshops, performances, and festivals. As CEO of the Krétakör-Foundation, founded by Hungarian theater director Árpád Schilling, her focus is on societal development rooted in participation. She is concerned with projects that are connected to current social developments.

 

Marlene Rigler

Marlene Rigler is an art historian and international curator with an academic background in aesthetics, literature, and European cultural policy (Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz, Paris I - La Sorbonne-Panthéon, Institut d’Etudes Politiques Grenoble). From 2005-2007 she was responsible for exhibits in the culture department of the history museum Mémorial da la Shoah in Paris, and in 2007 she was the international curator and film curator at the Argos- Centre for Arts and Media in Brussels. In 2013 she was appointed the founding director of the city cultural center ‘’Lee 116’’ in Montreuil (Seine-Saint Denis). In March 2017, she took over the Franco-German Foundation (CCFA) in Karlsruhe. At the same time, she is also a Ph.D. candidate in the field of art science at the Academy of Arts in Vienna under the philosopher Prof. Ruth Sonderegger.

 

Paul Schuberth

Paul Schuberth, born 1994 in Steyr (Austria), is a music student and accordion player in Linz. As a musician he has traveled to Europe, Africa, and Asia. He has published a dozen recordings (with “trio akk: zent", "Duo Vakkordeonioline", "Dinovski / Schuberth") since 2008, alongside his participation in other projects. Since 2014 he has written texts on political topics (e.g. in  derstandard.at , Augustin, Versrogerin, Café KPÖ, Semiosis-Blog), and he has also been trying to combine his political interest with his musical activities.

Vom Ausbruch aus den Blasen - derStandard.at

Wiener Zeitung - Multikulti-Feste sind nicht genug

Europäisches Symposium “Kulturpolitik und Rechtspopulismus”
Eintägige kulturpolitische Konferenz an der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien
Europa steht im Bann einer Konservativen Revolution. Diese äußert sich im Erstarken rechtspopulistischer Kräfte, die zunehmend die politische Agenda bestimmen. Ihre entschieden antiliberalen, antidemokratischen und antiegalitären Züge laufen auf ein „anderes Europa“ hinaus. Ihre ProtagonistInnen gefährden die Errungenschaften der liberalen Demokratie und damit das europäische Einigungskonzept.

Zur Disposition stehen die vielfältigen Wirkungen der jüngsten Globalisierungswelle, die von den VertreterInnen der Neuen Rechten pauschal kritisiert und für die Propagierung einer dieser entgegenstehenden Agenda genutzt werden: Gegen die BefürworterInnen, ProfiteurInnen und VisionärInnen der Globalisierung werden identitäre Gegenbilder in Stellung gebracht. Im Kampf gegen eine kulturell, wirtschaftlich und sozial entgrenzte Welt geht es für diese antiliberalen politischen Kräfte darum, rund um ein homogenes Volk noch einmal den souveränen Nationalstaat zu stärken, der sich ausschließlich um das Wohl der eigenen Bürger zu kümmern habe. Auf der Suche nach den Gründen für soziale Ungleichheiten wird dabei nicht mehr die Bekämpfung von ungerechten ökonomischen Machtverhältnissen, sondern die Abwehr gegen ethnisch-kulturelle Andersartigkeit verhandelt.

Neben grundsätzlichen gesellschaftspolitischen und kulturwissenschaftlichen Überlegungen zur aktuellen politischen Radikalisierung will das Symposium mit seinen Gästen einen Überblick über kulturpolitische Entwicklungen in ausgewählten europäischen Ländern wie z.B. Großbritannien, Frankreich, Ungarn oder auch den Niederlanden bieten. Dazu werden künstlerische Strategien vorgestellt, die sich mit den aktuellen politischen Veränderungen in Europa auseinandersetzen. Ein abschließendes Panel soll sich über die Konsequenzen für den Kunstbetrieb, vor allem im Bereich der künstlerischen Aus- und Fortbildung verständigen.

 

Kulturpolitik und Rechtspopulismus

Datum: 30. März 2017, 09:00 - 18:30 Uhr

Ort: Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien, Heiligenkreuzer Hof, Schönlaterngasse 5, 1010 Wien

Konzept und Moderation: Michael Wimmer (Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien, EDUCULT/ Wien)

Die Konferenz wird in deutscher und englischer Sprache abgehalten.

Information & Anmeldung: info(a)uni-ak.ac.at

Gäste/ReferentInnen: Dimitri Almeida (Georg-August-Universität Göttingen/ Deutschland), Gerald Bast (Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien/ Österreich), Werner T. Bauer (ÖGPP/ Österreich), Thomas Drozda (Bundesminister für Kunst und Kultur, Verfassung und Medien/ Österreich), Michel Gölz, Sebastian Kraner, Virginia Lui (Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien, Social Design/ Österreich), Stuart MacDonald (ifa/ Stuttgart, Deutschland), Barbara Neundlinger (Kulturmanagerin/ Österreich), Nils Oskamp (Künstler/ Deutschland), Dóra Papp (Krétakör, Eötvös Loránd Universität/ Ungarn), Heather Painter (Fulbright/ Österreich), Marlene Rigler (Kunsttheoretikerin und Kuratorin/ Deutschland), Paul Schuberth (Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität/ Österreich), Aron Weigl (EDUCULT), Michael Wimmer (Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien, EDUCULT)

Folder "Cultural Politics and Right-Wing Populism"


Programm

9:00 – 9:30 Eröffnung

Gerald Bast (Rektor, Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien)

9:30 – 10:00 Einführung

Michael Wimmer (Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien, EDUCULT)

Werner T. Bauer (ÖGPP/ Wien): “Rechtsextremismus und Rechtspopulismus im europäischen Vergleich“

10:00 – 11:30 Länderberichte

Dimitri Almeida (Georg-August-Universität Göttingen/ Deutschland)

Stuart MacDonald  (ifa/ Stuttgart, Deutschland)

Heather Painter (Fulbright/ Wien)

Dóra Papp (Krétakör, Eötvös Loránd Universität/ Budapest, Ungarn)

Moderation: Aron Weigl (EDUCULT)

(11:30 – 12:00 Pause)

12:00 – 13:30 Zugänge

Kenan Güngör (Think Difference/ Wien)

Nils Oskamp  (Künstler/ Berlin, Deutschland)

Paul Schuberth (Musiker, Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität/ Linz, Österreich)

Moderation:  Michael Wimmer (Universität für angewandte Kunst, EDUCULT)

(13:30 – 14:30 Mittagspause)

14:30 – 15:00 Künstlerische Intervention

Michel Gölz, Sebastian Kraner, Virginia Lui (Social Design, Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien)

15:00 – 16:30 Künstlerische Konsequenzen

Marlene Rigler (Kunsttheoretikerin und Kuratorin/ Karlsruhe, Deutschland)

Julian Bruns (Autor/ Wien)

Thomas Drozda (Bundesminister für Kunst und Kultur, Verfassung und Medien/ Wien)

Gerald Bast (Rektor, Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien)

Moderation: Barbara Neundlinger (Kulturmanagerin/ Wien)

(16: 30 – 17:00 Pause)

17:00 – 18:30 Abschlussdiskussion

Julian Bruns (Autor/ Wien)

Dóra Papp (Krétakör, Eötvös Loránd Universität/ Budapest, Ungarn)

Michael Wimmer (Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien, EDUCULT)

Gerald Bast (Rektor, Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien)

Moderation: Barbara Neundlinger (Kulturmanagerin/ Wien)

 

Biografien

Dimitri Almeida

Dimitri Almeida studierte Ethnologie und Politikwissenschaft an der Universität Freiburg und promovierte 2010 an der Universität Kassel zum Thema „The Impact of European Integration on the Structures and Dynamics of Party Competition“. Als Experte für die Entwicklungen der Front National in Frankreich liegen seine Schwerpunkte zudem in Forschung und Lehre im Bereich Nationalismus und Rechtsextremismus, Religion und Laizität sowie von Konfliktlinien und Identitätsbildungsprozess in Frankreich. Seit 2009 ist er Lehrbeauftragter für französische und portugiesische Landeswissenschaften an der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen.

 

Werner T. Bauer

Werner T. Bauer studierte Kulturanthropologie und Orientalistik an der Universität Wien und arbeitete danach als freier Journalist und Wissenschafter, von 1988 bis 1994 auch in Istanbul. Von 1998 bis 2001 war er Bildungsreferent am Afro-Asiatischen Institut (AAI) in Wien. Seit 2003 ist er als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter der Österreichischen Gesellschaft für Politikberatung und Politikentwicklung (ÖGPP) tätig. Seine Arbeitsschwerpunkte liegen im Bereich Internationale Politik, Stadtentwicklung, Migrationsforschung, Gesellschafts- und Kulturpolitik. Seit 2008 beschäftigt er sich intensiv mit dem Thema „Rechtspopulistische Parteien in Europa“. Gemeinsam mit Lilli Bauer ist er seit 2005 als Redakteur des Internetlexikons dasrotewien.at sowie seit 2010 als Kurator der Dauerausstellung „Das Rote Wien im Waschsalon Karl-Marx-Hof“ tätig.

 

Julian Bruns

Julian Bruns ist Autor, lebt in Wien und forscht im Bereich Rechtsextremismus mit Schwerpunkt Neue Rechte. Er war bei der Österreichischen HochschülerInnenschaft der Universität Wien im Referat für antirassistische Arbeit tätig. Gemeinsam mit Kathrin Glösel und Natascha Strobl hat er das Buch "Die Identitären. Handbuch zur Jugendbewegung der Neuen Rechten" (2014) sowie "Rechte Kulturrevolution. Wer und was ist die Neue Rechte von heute?" (2015) verfasst.

 

Thomas Drozda

Thomas Drozda studierte Betriebs- und Volkswirtschaft an der Johannes-Kepler-Universität Linz. Nach Tätigkeiten als Geschäftsführer beim Trotzdem-Verlag in Wien sowie in der Abteilung für volkswirtschaftliche Studien der Österreichischen Nationalbank, wechselte er 1993 als wirtschaftspolitischer Berater in das Kabinett von Bundeskanzler Vranitzky, wo er 1996 auch den Bereich Kunst und Kultur übernahm. Von 1998 bis 2008 war Drozda als kaufmännischer Geschäftsführer des Burgtheaters tätig, von 2007 bis 2014 zudem ORF-Stiftungsrat. 2008 wechselte er als geschäftsführender Generaldirektor zu den Vereinigten Bühnen Wien. Seit 2016 ist Drozda Bundesminister für Kunst und Kultur, Verfassung und Medien.

 

Michel Gölz

Michel Gölz absolvierte das Studium “Liberal Arts and Sciences” am University College Utrecht mit den Hauptfächern Anthropologie, Urbanistik und Politikwissenschaften. Er interessiert sich dafür, wie auch Theorie zu positiven gesellschaftlichen Veränderungen beitragen kann. Mit seinem interdisziplinären Hintergrund setzt er sich in seiner Arbeit für ein produktives Verhältnis von Theorie und Praxis ein und nutzt dabei auch künstlerische Methoden, um BürgerInnen in den städtebaulichen Prozess einzubeziehen. Seit 2015 studiert er Social Design an der Universität für Angewandte Kunst.

 

Kenan Güngör

Kenan Güngör leitet das Büro für Gesellschaft- und Organisationsentwicklung [think.difference] in Wien. Als Organisationsberater und internationaler Experte für Integrations- und Diversitätsfragen berät und begleitet er staatliche und nichtstaatliche Organisationen auf Bundes-, Landes- und Gemeindeebene und leitete u.a. zahlreiche integrationsbezogene Leitbildprozesse. Als strategischer Berater begleitete er die Stadt Wien über mehrere Jahre in integrations- und diversitätsbezogenen Themen. Darüber hinaus ist er Mitglied des unabhängigen Expertenrates der österreichischen Bundesregierung wie auch der Vorsitzende des Expert_Forums Prävention, Deradikalisierung & Demokratiekultur der Stadt Wien. Seine inhaltlichen Schwerpunkte sind Gesellschaftlicher Wandel, Integration, Partizipation, Diversität, Organisationsentwicklung, Stadtsoziologie, Jugend,  Identität, Konflikt- und Gewaltanalyse, Radikalisierung.

 

Sebastian Kraner

Sebastian Kraner lebt und arbeitet in Wien. 2013-2017 studierte er TransArts an der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien. Seit 2015 besucht er zudem den Masterlehrgang Social Design. Für seine Kurz- und Essayfilme wurde er im In- und Ausland ausgezeichnet und zu zahlreichen Festivals eingeladen. Zuletzt präsentierte er an der Universität für angewandte Kunst seine Arbeiten im Rahmen der Ausstellung “Nicht mit Rechten reden”.

 

Virginia Lui

Virginia Lui,  geboren in Sydney/Australien, lebt und arbeitet als Designerin in Wien. Sie studierte Architektur an der Universität in Sydney und hat bereits in renommierten Architekturbüros gearbeitet, bevor sie das Studium Social Design an der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien begann. In ihren bisherigen Projekten hat sie sich mit Themen wie Städteplanung und öffentlicher Raum, leistbares Wohnen, interkultureller Dialog, Migration und Rechtspopulismus auseinandergesetzt. Sie arbeitet interdisziplinär und erforscht dabei die unterschiedlichen Ausdrucksmittel von Kunst und Architektur. Dabei beschäftigen sie vor allem die soziale Verantwortung von Kunst und Design sowie deren potentieller Einfluss auf Gesellschaft und Umwelt.

 

Stuart MacDonald

Stuart MacDonald ist Gründer und stellvertretender Direktor des Centre for Cultural Relations (CCR) an der Universität in Edinburgh. Zuvor war er als Stratege und Experte mit über 20 Jahren politischer Erfahrung  im internationalen, pädagogischen, kulturellen, sozialen und öffentlichen Bereich tätig. 2011 verließ er den öffentlichen Dienst, um sich verstärkt seinem Interesse für kulturelle Beziehungen zu widmen. Er war in Tunesien nach der Revolution 2011 tätig, wo auch die Idee für den CCR entstand. Derzeit ist er für ifa (Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen) als  Berater hinsichtlich der Zukunft der internationalen Kulturbeziehungen in Europa nach dem Brexit tätig.

 

Nils Oskamp

Nils Oskamp, geboren 1969 in Bochum, studierte Grafik-Design mit dem Schwerpunkt Illustration und arbeitet seit 1999 als freier Illustrator. 2002 war er Mitbegründer des deutschen Illustratoren-Verbandes Illustratoren Organisation e.V. (IO), für den er mehrere Jahre als Redakteur und Herausgeber des Illustratoren-Newsletters tätig war. Seit 2006 ist er regelmäßig Gastkünstler im französischen Atelier du Marquis. 2012 wurde er mit dem Red Dot Design Award Honourable Mention ausgezeichnet und gründete die internationale Arbeitsgemeinschaft Atelier sans Fontières. In seiner ersten Graphic Novel „Drei Steine“ erzählt er die Geschichte seiner Jugend in den 1980er Jahren in Dortmund-Dorstfeld, wo er Opfer rechter Gewalt wurde.

 

Heather Painter

Geboren 1991 in Pittsburgh (PA, USA), studierte Heather Painter Englisch, Deutsch und Politikwissenschaft am Washington & Jefferson College. Danach war sie als Lehrerin für Teach For America in einer benachteiligten Schule im ländlichen Arkansas tätig. Sie arbeitete im Department of Education Reform an der University of Arkansas und im Zentrum für Politikforschung in München. Aktuell ist sie U.S. Fulbright Stipendiatin im Österreich, wo sie sich für Projekte im Bereich Bildungspolitik engagiert, Englisch als Fremdsprache unterrichtet und ihren Master in Politikwissenschaft an der Universität Wien absolviert.

 

Dóra Papp

Dóra Papp ist seit mehreren Jahren als Kulturmanagerin tätig und organisierte diverse Workshops, Performances und Festivals. Als Geschäftsführerin der Krétakör-Foundation, gegründet vom ungarischen Theaterregisseur Árpád Schilling, liegt ihr Fokus auf Gesellschaftsentwicklung basierend auf Partizipation. Ihr Anliegen sind Projekte, die an den aktuellen gesellschaftlichen Entwicklungen rühren und teilhaben.

 

Marlene Rigler

Marlene Rigler ist Kunsttheoretikerin und internationale Kuratorin mit akademischem Hintergrund in Ästhetik, Literatur und europäischer Kulturpolitik (Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz, Paris I - La Sorbonne-Panthéon, Institut d’Etudes Politiques Grenoble). 2005-2007 war sie verantwortlich für Ausstellungen im Kulturdepartment des historischen Museums  Mémorial da la Shoah in Paris, 2007 internationale Kuratorin und Filmkuratorin bei Argos-Centre for Arts and Media in Brüssel. 2013 wurde M. Rigler zur Gründungsdirektorin des städtischen Kunstzentrums “Le 116” in Montreuil (Seine-Saint Denis) berufen. Im März 2017 übernimmt sie die deutsch-französische Stiftung (CCFA) in Karlsruhe. Derzeit ist sie zudem Doktorandin im Bereich Kunstwissenschaft an der Akademie der Künste in Wien bei der Philosophin Prof. Ruth Sonderegger.

 

Paul Schuberth

Paul Schuberth, geboren 1994 in Steyr (OÖ), ist Musikstudent und Akkordeonspieler in Linz. Als Musiker bereiste er Europa, Afrika und Asien. Sowohl solo als auch mit unterschiedlichen Projekten veröffentlichte er seit 2008 ein Dutzend Tonträger (mit trio akk:zent, Duo Vakkordeonioline, Dinovski/Schuberth). Seit 2014 schreibt er Texte zu politischen Themen (u.a. in derstandard.at, Augustin, Versorgerin, Café KPÖ, Semiosis-Blog) und versucht seither auch sein politisches Interesse mit seinen musikalischen Tätigkeiten zu verbinden.