Cultural Policy for a Theatre for Young Audiences
EDUCULT at the conference of “Cradle of Creativity“ 2017 in Cape Town
„Cradle of Creativity“ from 16th to 27th May 2017 was the 19th ASSITEJ Congress and the first international theatre festival on the African continent during the 52 years of existence of ASSITEJ International. In co-operation with the National Arts Council of South Africa, Cape Town was this year’s venue for “Cradle of Creativity” and included a festival, a conference and a congress at the same time.

The International Association of Theatre for Children and Young People (ASSITEJ) is dedicated to maintain, develop and promote the theatre of children and young people. Beside live-theatres, workshops, congresses, international conferences of research, were at this year’s event as well next-generation-residency programs for generating international collaborations. Families and young people from Africa, together with international delegates of the fields of art, culture and education were invited to this conference. EDUCULT was represented there by its employee Dr. Aron Weigl. His lecture in the context of the International Theatre for Young Audiences Research Network (ITYARN) conference made a substantial contribution to the ASSITEJ Congress.

His lecture in the course of the panel “Supportive system or repressing conditions? A critical questioning of concepts and structures for intercultural Theatre for Young Audiences” deals with the subject of arts education: What role should arts education play considering changing societal structures? Which criteria should it meet? Do programmes, projects and processes of arts education reflect existing structures of power? Does the implementation of arts education projects construct or deconstruct social reality? Does perhaps the focus on underprivileged groups reinforce their marginalisation? To achieve a critical arts education, cultural policy should accomplish the basis of unique conversation between different groups and of the recognitions in a “third space” represented for example by the theatre for young audiences.

In communication with the other participants of the panel (Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Schneider/Department for Cultural Policy of the University Hildesheim, Katharina Schröck/Theatre Department of the Cultural Office of Frankfurt am Main, Dr. Annika Hampel/ International Office of the Institute for Technology Karlsruhe, and Prof. Dr. Veronica Baxter of the Cape Town University) and interested people from all over the world a discussion could arise about cultural policy and theatre policy, arts education, diversity and international co-operations. The lectures of the panel are planned to be published in the beginning of 2018.

ASSITEJ SA 19th World Congress Bid

ASSITEJ South Africa works to promote international awareness of South African theatre for children and young people, through networking, organising exchanges, touring performances, and by facilitating contacts. ASSITEJ South Africa presents its bid to host the ASSITEJ International 19th World Congress in Cape Town in 2017.

Kulturpolitik für ein Theater für junges Publikum
EDUCULT bei der „Cradle of Creativity“-Konferenz 2017 in Kapstadt
„Cradle of Creativity“ vom 16. bis zum 27. Mai 2017 war der 19. ASSITEJ-Kongress und das erste Internationale Theaterfestival auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent im 52-jährigen Bestehen von ASSITEJ International. In Partnerschaft mit dem Nationalen Kunstrat von Südafrika war Kapstadt der diesjährige Austragungsort für „Cradle of Creativity“ und beinhaltete zugleich ein Festival, eine Konferenz und einen Kongress.

Die Internationale Vereinigung des Theaters für Kinder und Jugendliche (ASSITEJ) widmet sich der Erhaltung, Entwicklung und Förderung des Kinder- und Jugendtheaters. Neben Live-Theater, Workshops, Kongressen, internationalen Forschungskonferenzen, wurden bei der diesjährigen Veranstaltung auch „Next Generation Residency“-Programme zur Bildung von internationalen Kollaborationen abgehalten. Dazu waren, neben Familien und Jugendlichen aus Afrika, auch internationale VertreterInnen aus den Bereichen Kunst, Kultur und Bildung eingeladen. Auch EDUCULT war in Form seines Mitarbeiters Dr. Aron Weigl vertreten, der durch einen Vortrag im Rahmen der Konferenz des International Theatre for Young Audiences Research Network (ITYARN) einen inhaltlichen Beitrag zum ASSITEJ-Kongress leistete.

In seinem Vortrag innerhalb des Panels „Supportive system or repressing conditions? A critical questioning of concepts and structures for intercultural Theatre for Young Audiences” beschäftigte er sich mit der Frage nach einer kritischen Kulturellen Bildung: Welche Rolle sollte Kulturelle Bildung angesichts veränderter gesellschaftlicher Strukturen spielen? Welchen Kriterien sollte sie folgen? Werden Machtstrukturen in Programmen, Projekten und Prozessen Kultureller Bildung reflektiert? Wird durch Umsetzungen von Kulturellen Bildungsprojekten soziale Realität konstruiert oder dekonstruiert? Wird durch eine Fokussierung auf benachteiligte Gruppen möglicherweise deren Marginalisierung verstärkt? Um eine kritische Kulturelle Bildung zu ermöglichen, wäre dementsprechend von kulturpolitischer Seite zu gewährleisten, dass eine gemeinsame Kommunikation verschiedener Gruppen und die Wahrnehmung von Unterschieden in einem „dritten Raum“, der z. B. das Kinder- und Jugendtheater darstellen kann, als Basis von Kooperation möglich wird.

Im Austausch mit den anderen Panel-TeilnehmerInnen (Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Schneider vom Institut für Kulturpolitik der Universität Hildesheim, Katharina Schröck vom Theaterreferat des Kulturamts Frankfurt am Main, Dr. Annika Hampel vom International Office des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie und Prof. Dr. Veronica Baxter von der Cape Town University) sowie mit Interessierten aus aller Welt konnte eine Diskussion über Kulturpolitik-/ Theaterpolitikforschung, Kulturelle Bildung, Diversität und internationale Kooperationen entstehen. Für Anfang 2018 ist die Publikation der Vorträge des Panels geplant.

ASSITEJ SA 19th World Congress Bid

ASSITEJ South Africa works to promote international awareness of South African theatre for children and young people, through networking, organising exchanges, touring performances, and by facilitating contacts. ASSITEJ South Africa presents its bid to host the ASSITEJ International 19th World Congress in Cape Town in 2017.