Salon of Cultures – Silent Dialogue
An exhibition in cooperation with the 7th Viennese Integration Week and the University for Applied Arts Vienna
EDUCULT's participative approach is reflected through our open discussions and art projects on current topics in the field of culture, education, policy and intercultural dialogue.

Vernissage: 27 April 2017, 6 p.m.

Exhibition: 28 April to 20 October 2017, Mo. to Fr. 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Location: EDUCULT, quartier21/MQ, Museumsplatz 1/e-1.6, 1070 Vienna (Entrance1.6, inner courtyard of the MQ-main entrance, on the right-hand side of the Café Daily - 3rd floor)

Artists: Lara Erel, Verena Zangerle, Osama Zatar

Curator: Mag.art. Zekerya Saribatur / University of Applied Arts Vienna

Introduction: Dr. Michael Wimmer / EDUCULT

Entrance free!

Lara Erel

Lara Erel, born in Tassin-La-Demi-Lune (France), has been studying graphics and print graphics at the University of Applied Arts since 2014. In addition to sketches and prints, she also documents places that she develops as “Gegenstädte” (Gegenstand is the German word for property, and Stadt is the German word for city. The title is a play on words, so the title points at the combination of items to create cities). The impression of a place is created not just through the location itself, but also by its content, its property, and its history.  In a city, building, paths and the people who animate them provide the framework. The images themselves consist of intimate objects from certain private rooms which, through their form, assume the essence of a city. When accumulated, these simplified forms become a new fantasy city, a “Gegenstadt."

Selected exhibitions:

  • 2016 UNFRAMED, Galerie Raum mit Licht (Group exhibition)
  • 2016 The Essence 16. Jahresausstellung der Universität für angewandte Kunst, Alte Post, Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien (Group exhibition)
  • 2016 S I N G U L A R, Galerie.Z (Group exhibition)
  • 2016 Wall painting, Wien Mitte - The Mall, Vienna (A)
  • 2016 Publikation Überraschung, pseudoscienza, Vienna 2016
  • 2015 Mashup FRANK, Werkschau für Graphisches und Illustratives, Vienna (A)
  • 2015 a day and an hour in urbo kune, a production of netzzeit and f.e.a in collaboration with Klangforum Wien, Wiener Konzerthaus, Vienna (A)
 

Verena Zangerle

Born in 1983 in Rum, Tirol: currently living, studying, and residing in Vienna. University of Applied Arts Vienna, Institute of Fine and Media Art, Department of Graphics, Jan Svenungsson. Jan Svenungsson. University of Applied Arts, Department of Art and Communicative Practice, Department of Free Experimental Applied Textile Design, Barbara Putz-Plecko.

I have always been fascinated by the power that abstraction has, not to imitate reality, but to generate a new one. In terms of medium, I move throughout the fields of drawing, painting, and print graphics. All of the techniques I use have their own method, but at the heart of all of my art remains the process-heavy work. My process is a concentration-driven, direct, physical, intuitive process that starts very freely und unrestrictedly and becomes more limited with each decision. A constant game of action and reaction, which always brings me to a new starting point, into a new situation, which I enter into, until the feeling of completion arrives. The final image that results comes to life during the production process, and this is where I root my preference for large formats, which promise me the time and possibility of movement.  Compositionally, I always work on complexity, a dynamic, a tension, but the impression of harmony must never be missing. Total concentration, movement from the front of the back and across the medium, filling, changing, transforming, and creating a new surface.

Selected exhibitions:

  • 2016 Alte Post: „Essence“ Wien, Juni
  • 2016 Buch- Ausstellungsprojekt: „Artists as independent publishers“ Essen, Bergen, Stockholm, London, Wien
  • 2016 Ordination Amon: “Kunstblick” Wien, November
  • 2015 Bair: „Abstraktion“ Imst, September
  • 2015 Künstlerhaus: ARTmART“ Wien, November
  • 2015 Galerie die Schöne: „Kunst & Käse“ Wien, Dezember
  • 2014 Galerie Hochdruck: Galeriemesse Wien, Dezember
 

Osama Zatar

Osama Zatar was born in 1980 in Ramallah, Palestine. Insurmountable obstacles in the conflict between Israel and Palestine made a life with his Israeli wife Jasmin Avissar, a freelance dancer and choreographer, impossible in his homeland. After a brief stop in Germany, she made her way to Austria, where Osama Zatar was invited to the exhibition "Overlapping Voices: Israeli and Palestinian Artists" by the ESSL Museum in 2008. He studied sculpture under Paul Taylor and graduated in the class of Heimo Zobernig at the Vienna Academy of Fine Arts in 2014. His work was last seen in the exhibition "BORDERS Nobility Dauood / Osama Zatar" in the ARTEMONS CONTEMPORARY Gallery near Linz. In the Café Prosa in Vienna, he has worked as a curator and for the networking of a community of refugee artists. In the series "EDUCULT in Conversation" Osama Zatar tells the story of his path to Austria and his understanding of art.

Salon der Kulturen – Stiller Dialog
Eine Ausstellung in Kooperation mit der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien und der 7. Wiener Integrationswoche
Die Veranstaltungsreihe "Salon der Kulturen" von EDUCULT bietet eine Plattform für KünstlerInnen aus unterschiedlichen Kunstsparten zu interkulturellen und kulturpolitischen Themen.

Lara Erel, Verena Zangerle und Osama Zatar präsentierten in der Vernissage am 27. April 2017, 18:00 Uhr ihre aktuellen Werke. Kuratiert wird die Ausstellung von Zekerya Saribatur (Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien).

Salon der Kulturen – Stiller Dialog

Vernissage: 27. April 2017, 18:00 Uhr

Ausstellung: 28. April – 20. Oktober 2017, Mo.-Fr. 10:00 bis 17:00 Uhr

Ort: EDUCULT, Q21 (im MuseumsQuartier Wien), Museumsplatz 1/e-1.6, 1070 Wien
(Stiegenaufgang 1.6 im Innenhof des MQ-Haupteingangs, rechts von Café Daily - 3. Stock)
 

KünstlerInnen: Lara Erel, Verena Zangerle und Osama Zatar

Künstl. Leitung: Mag.art. Zekerya Saribatur / Univ. f. angewandte Kunst Wien

Begrüßung: Dr. Michael Wimmer / EDUCULT

Eintritt frei!

Wir danken der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien (MA7), Abteilung Stadtteilkultur und Interkulturalität für die finanzielle Unterstützung dieser Veranstaltung!

---

Lara Erel

Lara Erel, geboren 1989 in Tassin-La-Demi-Lune (Frankreich), studiert seit 2014 in der Klasse für Grafik und Druckgrafik auf der Universität für angewandte Kunst. Anhand Zeichnungen und Drucken dokumentiert sie Orte, die sie als „Gegenstädte“ entwickelt. Nicht nur durch den Ort selbst, sondern auch durch seinen Inhalt, seine Gegenstände und ihre Geschichte bildet sich der Eindruck eines Ortes. Bei einer Stadt sind Gebäude, Wege und die Menschen, die sie animieren, ihr Gerüst. Die Bilder selbst bestehen aus intimen Gegenständen von gewissen privaten Räumen, die durch ihre Form das Wesen einer Stadt annehmen. Wenn akkumuliert, werden diese vereinfachten Formen zu einer neuen Fantasiestadt, eine „Gegenstadt“.

Ausstellungen (eine Auswahl):

  • 2016 UNFRAMED, Galerie Raum mit Licht (Group exhibition)
  • 2016 The Essence 16. Jahresausstellung der Universität für angewandte Kunst, Alte Post, Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien (Group exhibition)
  • 2016 S I N G U L A R, Galerie.Z (Group exhibition)
  • 2016 Wall painting, Wien Mitte - The Mall, Vienna (A)
  • 2016 Publikation Überraschung, pseudoscienza, Vienna 2016
  • 2015 Mashup FRANK, Werkschau für Graphisches und Illustratives, Vienna (A)
  • 2015 a day and an hour in urbo kune, a production of netzzeit and f.e.a in collaboration with Klangforum Wien, Wiener Konzerthaus, Vienna (A)
 

Verena Zangerle

geboren 1983 Rum/Tirol: lebt, studiert, wohnt in Wien. Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien, Institut Bildende & Mediale Kunst, Abteilung Grafik, Jan Svenungsson. Universität für angewandte Kunst, Abteilung Kunst und kommunikative Praxis, Abteilung freie experimentelle angewandte textile Gestaltung, Barbara Putz-Plecko.

Ich war immer schon fasziniert von der Macht die Abstraktion hat, nicht Realität zu imitieren, sondern Neue zu generieren. Medial bewege ich mich dabei in den Gebieten der Zeichnung, der Malerei und der Druckgrafik. Alle Techniken, die ich verwende, haben ihre eigene Methode, aber was allen in meiner Kunst zu Grunde liegt, ist die Prozesslastigkeit. Mein Prozess ist ein, durch Konzentration geprägter, direkter, physischer, intuitiver Vorgang, der sehr frei und uneingeschränkt beginnt und mit jeder Entscheidung limitierter wird. Ein ständiges Spiel aus Aktion und Reaktion, das mich immer wieder an einen neuen Ausgangspunkt, in eine neue Situation bringt, auf die ich eingehe, bis sich das Gefühl der Vervollständigung einstellt. Die Bildfindung passiert während der Erzeugung und darin wurzelt auch meine Vorliebe für große Formate, die mir zum einen Zeit und zum anderen die Möglichkeit für Bewegung versprechen. Kompositorisch arbeite ich immer auf Komplexität, auf eine Dynamik, auf eine Spannung hin, wobei aber der Eindruck von Harmonie nie fehlen darf. Totale Konzentration, Bewegung nach Vorne - Bewegung nach Hinten - Bewegung über das Medium, füllen, verändern,  transformieren, eine neue Oberfläche erschaffen.

Ausstellungen/Projekte (eine Auswahl):

  • 2016 Alte Post: „Essence“ Wien, Juni
  • 2016 Buch- Ausstellungsprojekt: „Artists as independent publishers“ Essen, Bergen, Stockholm, London, Wien
  • 2016 Ordination Amon: “Kunstblick” Wien, November
  • 2015 Bair: „Abstraktion“ Imst, September
  • 2015 Künstlerhaus: ARTmART“ Wien, November
  • 2015 Galerie die Schöne: „Kunst & Käse“ Wien, Dezember
  • 2014 Galerie Hochdruck: Galeriemesse Wien, Dezember
 

Osama Zatar

Osama Zatar wurde 1980 in Ramallah/Palästina geboren. Unüberwindbare Hindernisse im Konflikt zwischen Israel und Palästina machten ein Leben mit seiner israelischen Frau Jasmin Avissar, die als freischaffende Tänzerin und Choreographin tätig ist, in seiner Heimat unmöglich. Nach einem Zwischenstopp in Deutschland führte sie ihr Weg nach Österreich, wo Osama Zatar 2008 zur Ausstellung „Overlapping Voices: Israeli and Palestinian artists“ vom ESSL Museum eingeladen war. Er studierte Bildhauerei bei Paul Taylor und schloss 2014 in der Klasse von Heimo Zobernig sein Studium an der Wiener Akademie der bildenden Künste ab. Zuletzt waren seine Werke in der Ausstellung „BORDERS Adel Dauood/Osama Zatar“ in der ARTEMONS CONTEMPORARY Galerie bei Linz zu sehen. Im Café Prosa in Wien ist er u. a. als Kurator und für die Vernetzung einer Community geflüchteter KünstlerInnen tätig. In der Reihe "EDUCULT im Gespräch" erzählt Osama Zatar von seinem Weg nach Österreich und seinem Kunstverständnis.