Aid Fund for Artists
Evaluation of the Aid Fund within the Scope of the Social Insurance Fund for Artists Austria
Since 2015, artists in Austria can receive financial aid in special hardships. EDUCULT is evaluating the Aid Fund (Unterstützungsfonds) for the Social Insurance Fund for Artists (Künstler-Sozialversicherungsfonds).

Short description

The Social Insurance Fund for Artists deals with awarding grants towards the social insurance contributions of artists and their temporary suspension from the artistic work. The fund is also responsible for the operational allocation of financial support from the Aid Fund. The aim is to improve the social security of self-employed and employed artists particularly in exceptional emergency situations through a financial support of up to 5,000 euro per application. Such emergencies may be the case if temporary or long-term illness or other unpredictable or extraordinary events temporarily prevent the artist from making a living, if urgent purchases or repairs are necessary, or if increased expenditures occur.

EDUCULT is evaluating the expectations, structures and processes as well as the quality of results within the framework of the aid fund. The focus is on the implementation of the directive and the related expectations of various relevant actors, their roles and tasks as well as the communication structures between them. Which challenges arise and how can they be addressed? Finally, recommendations for the optimization of the instrument and the associated processes are to be formulated.

Methods

By the end of January 2017 different steps of the evaluation will be carried out. A document analysis as well as qualitative expert interviews with artists, employees of the Social Insurance Fund for Artists and the decision-making advisors. The Austrian artists' interest associations are also involved in the evaluation. In particular, a survey is carried out among the members of the interest groups which on the one hand contributes to the promotion of the aid fund, and on the other hand generates data for analyzing the relevance of the fund itself. The results are summarized in a report.

Unterstützungsfonds für KünstlerInnen
Evaluation des Unterstützungsfonds im Rahmen des Künstler-Sozialversicherungsfonds Österreich
Seit 2015 können KünstlerInnen in Österreich finanzielle Beihilfen in besonderen Notsituationen erhalten. EDUCULT evaluiert das Unterstützungsinstrument für den Künstler-Sozialversicherungsfonds.

Kurzbeschreibung

Der Künstler-Sozialversicherungsfonds, der im Hauptgeschäft die Vergabe von Zuschüssen zu Sozialversicherungsbeiträgen von KünstlerInnen und deren vorübergehende Ruhendmeldung von der künstlerischen Erwerbsarbeit abwickelt, ist ebenfalls für die operationale Vergabe der Beihilfen aus dem Unterstützungsfonds zuständig. Ziel ist es, durch finanzielle Unterstützung mit bis zu 5.000 Euro pro Ansuchen die soziale Absicherung von selbstständigen und unselbstständigen KünstlerInnen in besonders berücksichtigungswürdigen Notfällen zu verbessern. Solche Notfälle können vorliegen, wenn wegen schwerer oder langandauernder Erkrankung oder anderen unvorhersehbaren bzw. außergewöhnlichen Ereignissen der Lebensunterhalt temporär nicht bestritten werden kann, dringende Anschaffungen oder Reparaturen notwendig sind oder erhöhte Aufwendungen auftreten.

EDUCULT evaluiert die Zielerwartungen, Strukturen und Prozesse sowie die Ergebnisqualität im Rahmen des Unterstützungsfonds. Im Fokus steht die Umsetzung der Richtlinie und daran geknüpften Erwartungen von verschiedenen relevanten AkteurInnen, deren Rollen und Aufgaben sowie die Kommunikationsstrukturen zwischen ihnen. Welche Herausforderungen ergeben sich und wie kann diesen begegnet werden? Letztlich sollen Empfehlungen zur Optimierung des Instruments und den damit verbundenen Prozessen formuliert werden.

Erhebung

Bis Jänner 2017 werden unterschiedliche Erhebungsschritte durchgeführt, u.a. eine Dokumentenanalyse sowie qualitative Experteninterviews mit KünstlerInnen, MitarbeiterInnen des Künstler-Sozialversicherungsfonds und über die Ansuchen entscheidende BeirätInnen. An der Evaluation werden außerdem die österreichischen Künstlerinteressenverbände einbezogen. Insbesondere wird eine Umfrage unter den Mitgliedern der Interessenvertretungen durchgeführt, die einerseits zur Bekanntmachung des Unterstützungsfonds beitragen und andererseits Aufschluss über dessen Relevanz geben soll. Die Ergebnisse werden in einem Bericht zusammengefasst.