Transculturality at University
A research project in cooperation with the Anton Bruckner Private University
Austria has been able to position itself internationally as a country of culture and music. This is also indicat-ed by the attractiveness of its arts and music institutions, which are a major tourist factor. Moreover, the educational institutions for arts and music could establish themselves as demanded tertiary educational institutions for students with foreign educational backgrounds.

That also applies to the Anton Bruckner Private University. The last student social survey from the year 2015 points out that foreign students, respectively students with migrant background, are a fundamental factor for the institution.

With the aim of a "culture-sensitive institution", the planned research project is to pay particular attention to the importance of diversity in university operations. The aim is to create meaningful foundations for the future strategic orientation which makes it possible for the Anton Bruckner Private University, in particular the departments and committees, which are in close contact with all students, to join the efforts to maintain and develop genuinely artistic quality standards which are oriented towards the diverse cultural backgrounds of the students.

Methods

In close cooperation with a research team of the university, various survey steps will be carried out by the end of 2017, among other things the survey of all students and focus group discussions with individual students as well as interviews with teachers and responsible persons of the university management. In addition, a document analysis and, if appropriate, a round table will take place.

Transkulturalität im Universitätsbetrieb
Ein Forschungsprojekt mit der Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität
Österreich konnte sich international als Kultur- bzw. Musikland positionieren. Dies zeigt sich auch in der Attraktivität seiner Kunst- und Musikeinrichtungen, die einen wesentlichen Tourismusfaktor darstellen. Darüber hinaus konnten sich auch die universitären und außeruniversitären Kunst- und Musikausbildungseinrichtungen als nachgefragte tertiäre Bildungseinrichtungen für Studierende mit aus-ländischem Bildungshintergrund etablieren.

Das trifft auch auf die Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität zu. Die letzte Studierenden-Sozialerhebung aus dem Jahr 2015 weist darauf hin, dass ausländische Studierende bzw. solche mit Migrationshintergrund einen wesentlichen Faktor des Betriebes darstellen.

Mit dem Anspruch einer „kulturensensiblen Einrichtung“ soll mit dem geplanten Forschungsprojekt ein besonderes Augenmerk auf die Bedeutung von Diversität im Universitätsbetrieb gelegt werden. Ziel ist die Erarbeitung von aussagekräftigen Grundlagen zur künftigen strategischen Ausrichtung, die es der Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität, insbesondere der Abteilungen und Gremien, die in intensivem Kontakt mit allen Studierenden sind, erlaubt, sich neben der Beibehaltung und Weiterentwicklung genuin künstlerischer Qualitätsansprüche verstärkt an den vielfältigen kulturellen Hintergründen der Studierenden zu orientieren.

Erhebung                                                                                                                                                                                                  

In enger Zusammenarbeit mit einem Forschungsteam der Universität werden bis Ende des Jahres 2017 unterschiedliche Erhebungsschritte durchgeführt, u. a. eine Befragung aller und Fokusgruppengespräche mit einzelnen Studierenden sowie Interviews mit Lehrenden und Verantwortlichen der Universitätsleitung. Darüber hinaus findet eine Dokumentenanalyse und ggf. ein Round Table statt.